University of Minnesota
Teaching and Education header image

University of Minnesota professor elected to prestigious American Academy of Arts and Sciences

April 25, 2013

University of Minnesota College of Science and Engineering professor Renata Wentzcovitch has been elected a 2013 Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies.

A professor of chemical engineering and materials science, Wentzcovitch, is one of 198 newly elected members who will be inducted into the Academy on Oct. 12, 2013 at the academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Mass. Members of the 2013 class include winners of the Nobel Prize; National Medal of Science; the Lasker Award; the Pulitzer and the Shaw prizes; the Fields Medal; MacArthur and Guggenheim fellowships; the Kennedy Center Honors; and Grammy, Emmy, Academy, and Tony awards. 

Wentzcovitch is a renowned researcher devoted to quantum mechanical studies of materials. Her research group’s major effort is working to understand the thermo-chemical state of the Earth’s mantle, traditionally divided into upper mantle, transition zone and lower mantle. Her group also investigates the magnetic state of materials.

Wentzcovitch has previously been elected as a fellow of the Mineralogical Society of America, a fellow of the American Geophysical Union and a fellow of the American Physical Society. She has received the Alexander von Humboldt Award for Senior U.S. Scientists and the American Geophysical Union Graduate Research Award in Mineral and Rock Physics.

"Election to the Academy honors individual accomplishment and calls upon members to serve the public good," said Academy President Leslie C. Berlowitz. "We look forward to drawing on the knowledge and expertise of these distinguished men and women to advance solutions to the pressing policy challenges of the day."

Founded in 1780 by John Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock, and other scholar-patriots, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences elects members who are the finest minds and most influential leaders from each generation. Its roster has included such influential figures as George Washington, Ben Franklin, Daniel Webster, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Albert Einstein, and Winston Churchill. The current membership includes more than 170 Nobel laureates and 50 Pulitzer Prize winners.

Wentzcovitch large

Twin Cities Campus: