University of Minnesota
Teaching and Education header image

Minnesota Center for Reading Research honors schools for achievement in reading

February 10, 2011

Sixty-two Minnesota elementary schools were honored today for their achievement in reading by the Minnesota Center for Reading Research with a presentation and ceremony at the University of Minnesota in St. Paul.

Schools chosen for the honor are those elementary schools that made adequate yearly progress in reading during school years 2008-2009 and 2009-2010 after failing to make adequate yearly progress (AYP) in the previous year.

Schools honored are: 

Anishinabe Academy,  Minneapolis Public Schools
Armatage Montessori, Minneapolis Public Schools        
Barnum Elementary, Barnum Public Schools              
Blue Earth Elementary, Blue Earth Area Public Schools    
Breckenridge Elementary, Breckenridge Public Schools   
Cedar Island Elementary, Osseo Area Schools
Cedar Ridge Elementary, Eden Prairie Public Schools          
Central Elementary, Norwood Public Schools
Christa McAuliffe Elementary, Hastings Public Schools  
Churchill Elementary, Cloquet Public Schools         
Clara Barton Open School, Minneapolis Public Schools   
Concordia Creative Learning Academy, St. Paul, MN
Crossroads Elementary, Saint Paul Public Schools
Dover-Eyota Elementary, Dover-Eyota Public Schools        
East Bethel Community School, St. Francis Public Schools
Elm Creek Elementary, Osseo Area Schools              
Fair Oaks Elementary, Osseo Area Schools      
Fertile-Beltrami Elementary, Fertile-Beltrami Public Schools  
Forest Hills Elementary, Eden Prairie Public Schools       
Franklin Elementary, Mankato Public Schools            
Granada-Huntley-East Chain Elementary, GHEC Public Schools
Hale Elementary, Minneapolis Public Schools          
Harrison Elementary, Brainerd Public Schools        
Hillside Elementary, South Washington County Schools          
Hmong International Academy, Minneapolis Public Schools
Houston Elementary, Houston Public Schools     
Jordan Elementary, Jordan Public Schools     
Kaposia Education Center, South St. Paul Public Schools
Kennedy Community School, St. Cloud Public Schools 
Kennedy Elementary, Hastings Public Schools
Kenny Elementary, Minneapolis Public Schools     
Lakeside Elementary, Chisago Lakes School District         
Lakeview Elementary, Albert Lea Area Schools         
Lincoln HI Elementary, Lincoln HI Public Schools
Lincoln Piedmont Elementary, Duluth Public Schools
Lino Lakes Elementary, Forest Lake Area Schools           
Minisinaakwaang Leadership Academy, McGregor, MN
MTS Elementary, Minnesota Transitions Charter Schools
Nett Lake Elementary, Nett Lake Public School District 
New Heights School, Stillwater, MN
New Visions Academy, Minneapolis, MN
Newport Elementary, South Washington County Schools  
Noble Academy, Minneapolis, MN               
North Elementary, Princeton Public Schools             
North Park Elementary, Columbia Heights Public Schools      
Oak Ridge Elementary, Rosemount - Apple Valley - Eagan
Ogilvie Elementary, Ogilvie Public Schools       
Otter Lake Elementary, White Bear Lake Area Schools
Partnership Academy, Richfield, MN
Pilot Knob Elementary, West St. Paul - Mendota Heights - Eagan
Pine Grove Leadership Academy, Sandstone, MN  
Pinewood Elementary, Mounds View Public Schools                    
Raleigh Edison, Duluth Edison Charter Schools
Rogers Elementary, Elk River Area Schools
Skyview Elementary, North St. Paul - Maplewood - Oakdale
Staples Elementary, Staples Motley Schools         
Sweeney Elementary, Shakopee Public Schools
Twin Cities International Elementary, Minneapolis, MN
Twin Lakes Elementary, Elk River Area Schools   
Victoria Elementary, Eastern Carver County Schools         
Washington Elementary, Owatonna Public Schools      
Zanewood Community School, Osseo Area Schools

The Minnesota Center for Reading Research is part of the College of Education and Human Development. For more information, visit  or call (612) 624-4561.

Twin Cities Campus: