University of Minnesota
Food and Agriculture header image

Siehl Prize for Excellence in Agriculture seeks nominations

October 16, 2012

Nominations are open for the Siehl Prize for Excellence in Agriculture 2013 awards. The prize recognizes outstanding contributions to agriculture and the alleviation of world hunger.

The University of Minnesota’s College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences administers the awards. Recipients are chosen in three categories: knowledge (teaching, research and outreach), production agriculture and agribusiness. Each laureate receives a $50,000 award as well as a sculpture and lapel pin designed by Minnesota artist Thomas Rose specifically for the Siehl Prize.
The Siehl Prize was created in the early 1990s by a generous gift from New Ulm-area livestock breeder and businessman Eldon Siehl, a dedicated philanthropist who had a lifelong interest in agricultural systems. Siehl was concerned that people were losing touch with their agrarian roots and wanted his gift to ensure that achievements in agriculture would be recognized and celebrated. Past winners include former Minnesota agriculture commissioner Gene Hugoson and Don Helgeson, Gold’n Plump chairman.
Nominee(s) must reside or have resided in Minnesota for at least five years or hold a degree from the University of Minnesota. Individuals and teams of people are eligible. Self-nominations and nominations by relatives are not allowed. Nominations submitted the previous year must be updated and resubmitted annually.
Nomination instructions are available online at Deadline for nominations is Jan. 15, with award winners expected to be announced on National Ag Day, March 19, 2013.

Twin Cities Campus: