University of Minnesota
Campus and Community header image

Dr. Maureen Reed elected chair of the U of M Alumni Association

Friday, June 24, 2011

Dr. Maureen Reed, executive director of the Nobel Peace Prize Forum, has been elected volunteer national chair of the University of Minnesota Alumni Association (UMAA) for 2011-12. She is the 75th chair in the organization’s 107-year history.

“I’m honored to have the opportunity to serve as the chair of UMAA’s National Board of Directors this year,” Reed said. “It’s a true privilege to have this opportunity to lead the association and serve our great university.”

Reed (B.A. ’75, M.D. ’79) will officially assume her role on July 1. Outgoing volunteer national chair Ertugrul Tuzcu (M.S. ’78) presented Reed with the gavel at UMAA’s annual celebration on May 3.

“I look forward to working with Maureen to ensure that UMAA remains a relevant advocate to support and advance the university’s excellence,” said Phil Esten, UMAA president and CEO. “Her extensive and diverse background will benefit us greatly as we execute our new strategic plan, which we hope will set the standard for the next generation of alumni relations.”

Reed is the executive director of the Nobel Peace Prize Forum. She has been a physician, administrator and health policy advocate in the Twin Cities for over two decades and has run for both lieutenant governor and U.S. Congress. From 1997 to 2005, she served on the University of Minnesota Board of Regents and held the role of chair for two years. She currently holds an adjunct faculty appointment at the University of Minnesota School of Public Health and the School of Medicine.

Also assuming new leadership roles on the board on July 1 are:

Kent Horsager, chair-elect
Susan Adams Loyd, first vice chair
Jim du Bois, vice chair
Alison Page, vice chair
Ertugrul Tuzcu, past chair
Bonnie Welshons, vice chair
Patrick Schott, secretary/treasurer

New board members elected include:

Clint Schaff, Southwest USA representative
Martin Schultz, NW Minnesota representative – 2nd term
Walter Bond, at-large representative
Natasha Freimark, at-large representative
Sandra Ulsaker Wiese, at-large representative – 2nd term
Todd Williams, at-large representative – 2nd term

About University of Minnesota Alumni Association
University of Minnesota Alumni Association is a nearly 60,000-member organization dedicated to engaging the University of Minnesota’s global community to support and advance the University's excellence. For more information, visit

Twin Cities Campus: