University of Minnesota
Arts and Humanities header image

U of M School of Music University Singers to premiere Swan Composer Prize winner Zvonimir Nagy's "Cantus Jubilus"

October 7, 2010

The University of Minnesota School of Music today announced that the winning work of the 2011 Craig and Janet Swan Composer Prize is "Cantus Jubilus" by Zvonimir Nagy. This choral work will be premiered by the University Singers under the batons of Kathy Saltzman Romey and Matthew Mehaffey on Saturday, April 30, 2011 at St. Olaf Catholic Church, 215 S. 8th St., Minneapolis.

Nagy has been invited to attend dress rehearsals and the premiere performance. The $1,500 Swan Composer Prize will be awarded formally at the work’s premiere. Based in Chicago, Nagy was educated at the Academy of Music of the University of Zagreb, Conservatoire “Jacques Ibert,” École Normale de Musique de Paris and Texas Christian University, completing his doctoral studies in music composition at Northwestern University. His principal teachers include: composition – Jay Alan Yim, Augusta Read Thomas, Tristan Murail, Marko Ruzdjak; music theory – Robert Gjerdingen; organ – H. Joseph Butler; piano – Tamás Ungár, Sergei Markarov, Eugene Indjic, Damir Sekošan.

As a composer, performer and teacher, Nagy divides his time between teaching and composing at St. Xavier University, where he is professor of music theory and composition, and his post at St. Michael in Old Town Church in Chicago, where he directs the choir, oversees the music, serves as the composer-in-residence and plays the historic Kilgen pipe organ.

As winner of the Swan Commission, Nagy is invited to join the School of Music as artist in residence in April 2011 for the premiere of "Cantus Jubilus."

The Swan Composer Prize competition, underwritten by the Swans, is an annual event and the emphasis rotates among choral, wind ensemble and orchestral works. The competition was created in response to the generosity, vision and abiding interest in music as a living art on the part of Craig and Janet Swan. The Swan Prize competition is open to composers in the earlier career stages currently residing in the United States; all entries remain anonymous throughout the entire two-tier adjudication process. The American Composers Forum and the University of Minnesota School of Music administered the competition.  

The American Composers Forum is committed to supporting composers and developing new markets for their music. Through granting, commissioning and performance programs, the Forum provides composers at all stages of their careers with valuable resources for professional and artistic development. By linking communities with composers and performers, the Forum fosters a demand for new music, enriches communities and helps develop the next generation of composers, musicians and music patrons. Visit for more information.

Established in 1902, the University of Minnesota School of Music offers a dynamic, comprehensive program to more than 500 music students in undergraduate and graduate programs, led by a world-class faculty of over 50 artists, scholars and teachers. The School of Music presents more than 400 free concerts per year. For a complete schedule of events, visit or call (612) 626-1094 for a brochure.

Zvonimir Nagy 300
As winner of the Swan Commission, Zvonimir Nagy is invited to join the School of Music as artist in residence in April 2011.

Twin Cities Campus: