University of Minnesota
Arts and Humanities header image

Two U of M professors receive residencies through McKnight Choreography Fellowship Program

April 26, 2013

Two University of Minnesota Theatre, Arts and Dance professors have been selected to receive residencies at nationally known programs through the McKnight National Residency program.

Professors Carl Flink and Ananya Chatterjea, both 2012 McKnight Choreography Fellows, will each be awarded unrestricted $25,000 fellowships.

Flink will spend six and a half weeks in residence at the American Dance Festival (ADF) in Durham, N.C. in June-July 2014 and create a new work using dancers from the prestigious ADF Six Week School. His new work will premiere at the Festival on a shared evening. The ADF, founded in 1934, is an international magnet for choreographers, dancers, teachers, critics, musicians and scholars, and has been deemed "one of the most important institutions in the history of American dance" by the Washington Post.

Chatterjea will spend one week in residence with her company Ananya Dance Theatre at the Tofte Lake Center in northern Minnesota in July 2014. Tofte Lake Center is a creative retreat center for artists, scholars and thinkers of all disciplines located on the shores of Tofte Lake, in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness of Minnesota. 

The McKnight Artist Fellowships for Dancers and Choreographers, a program of Northrop at the U of M, annually awards fellowships to three Minnesota choreographers. Now, in addition to the cash award, choreography fellows may also apply for a McKnight-sponsored residency with one of Northrop and McKnight's national residency partners. The residencies provide time and resources for the development of new choreographic work as well as garnering a national profile for the fellows. 

The McKnight Artist Fellowships for Dancers and Choreographers, McKnight International Fellowship, and the McKnight National Residency program are funded by The McKnight Foundation and administered by Northrop at the University of Minnesota.

Twin Cities Campus: